I Forgot My #2 Pencil

So, recently I have been checking into online education and apply for teaching  jobs. Because I had my teaching license in Ohio, I thought it would be relatively easy to renew and transfer my license to another state. Well, I was wrong. Apparently, I never finished my Alternative Licensure Program in Ohio, due to some miscommunications. Come to find out that I can easily get my Ohio license if I simply pass a test. Da da da… It’s the PRAXIS: Principles of Teaching and Learning test. 

So, I registered for the test almost as soon as I found out (which by the way, avoid the website ets.org like the plague, if at all possible, but that’s another story!) which was right before we left for our holiday vacation. Upon returning I had two sick children… which, as you might guess, does not create a suitable environment for studying. However, my wonderful husband let me go to the U (University of Utah) and study (and thankfully the study book was still at the library) for 6 hours yesterday. It was really great and I’m glad I had that time to prepare. 

So, I woke up with plently of time this morning to look up some last-minute terms, make and eat a good breakfast, take a shower and feel nice and awake. I was fairly worried about how to find the classroom at BYU (Brigham Young University) since I’ve gotten lost on campus more often than I care to think about. So, I’m slightly nervous, but give myself 30 minutes to find the room. I call the campus and ask for directions. Ok, thank goodness, I think I know where I’m going. I drive down. I find a parking lot. I take one last sip of my Dr. Pepper. I get out of the car, shut the door, and DING DING DING!!! I’M GOING TO NEED A  PENCIL. How could I, the pencil nazi of my math classes forget a pencil. Let me tell you, my #1 pet peeve of my teaching days were students constantly forgetting and subsequently asking for pencils. Are you kidding me? I, of all people, forgot her pencil. Wow. I look around, no, this is not the street with the gas station on the corner. What teacher forgets her pencil?

So, yes, with a hung head and red, rosy cheecks, I raised my hand as they asked who needed a pencil. Yes. Me. The pencil nazi needs a pencil.

Here are my excuses:

1. It has been 3 1/2 years since standardized testing was a part of my vocabulary or even on my radar.

2. It has been 6 years since I, myself, have had to take a standardized test.

3. Really, when was the last time I needed a pencil…. 3 1/2 years ago. 

 

So now I’m simply crossing my fingers and hoping that I will pass this wonderful little (HUGE) exam! 🙂

Published in: on January 10, 2009 at 8:02 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/i-forgot-my-2-pencil/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Stacia – I am so glad you have a blog. I look forward to reading it.

    I hope you passed the Praxis. I hope I never have to take a Praxis test again. They are brutal.

  2. stacia…SO excited to see your blog. and i was definitely cracking up about the pencil; it sounds like something i would do these days, and yet i too was such a pencil nazi in my teaching days. i remember that nasty praxis test…do hope you pass! i look forward to reading all about the adventures of your little fam (and congrats on adding another member since we’ve last been in touch!) allyson k. from our NZ trip has a blog too…and just had a gorgeous baby girl…i’ll have to find the url and pass it along to you!


Leave a Reply

