Camping Trip to Zion National Park

If I may, this is a copy of my husband’s blog post, but offers great memories!

Joy overflows

Entrance fee into Zion National Park? 25 dollars.

Camping fee? 16 dollars x 2 nights.

Rocks for John at the local rock store? 7 dollars.

Shower at Bike Zion? 5 dollars.

Priceless:

  • Listening to John and Lydia play and laugh together in the back of the car.
  • Listening to John and Lydia tantalize each other in the back of the car.
  • Hiking with Stacia and Lydia as they were wrapped together.

    Lydia and Stacia

    Lydia and Stacia

  • Waking up in the middle of the night next to my wife on a matress that had deflated.
  • Watching Lydia crawl with a small object clutched in her hand, on all fours to avoid getting dirt on her knees.
  • Watching John throw rocks into various rivers and shriek with joy.
  • Cooking my own sausage at our campfire.
  • Watching foreign tourists try to maintain their polite composure in the shuttle bus as our tired children were crying and whining.
  • Eating my wife’s chili dogs.
  • Alternating the reading of Augustine’s Confessions aloud in the car with my wife as the children slept.
  • Waking up to Lydia smilng at me from her Pack ‘n Play.
  • Marveling at flowers that grew upside-down.
    Flowers growing upside-down

    Flowers growing upside-down

  • Bustling about the camp site as my wife peacefully sat and knitted.
  • Drinking the park’s natural spring water.
  • Cheating by adding coals to the fire.
  • Being in a town where there were no fast food franchises.
  • Carrying John on my shoulders.
  • Basking in the beauty of order in God’s creation.
Published in: on May 26, 2009 at 11:09 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2009/05/26/camping-trip-to-zion-national-park/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My family always camped when I was little! It was our way of affording a vacation, but it’s some of my favorite memories! Hope your kids will feel the same way when they get older and look back.

  2. I did a 50-miler in Zion’s when I was 13 years old…some of my fondest memories growing up.

    Your children are beautiful…I love how their cute little legs and feet are all dirty! Gotta let ’em enjoy it!


Leave a Reply

