June 2009 in Review

1st – Lydia sits in my lap and proceeds to manipulate my hand so she can give me “five” and she’s so proud of herself.

3rd- I was cleaning up the kitchen and the living room, and without being asked John found things he knew how to clean and cleaned up all by himself!

– John dipped goldfish in ketchup.

4th – John and Lyddie have a BLAST playing with the swing box.

5th – John decides that Teddy Grahams would make a good cereal… I can’t say I disagree.

7th – Lydia is definitely more of a walker than a crawler.

8th – Went to the Shawan’s for dinner. We hear Heather, their 3-year-old, yelling, “Bring back my underwear! Bring back my underwear!” Then we see Lydia walking into the room proudly showing off the underwear in her hand.

11th – Omi came to town!

12th – Visted the Tracey Aviary and had a great time.

– John purposefully puts his shoes on the wrong feet.

13th – John, sitting on the bathrrom floor, poured baby oil on a brush and brushed hair, which lead to an empty bottle of baby oil on himself, the floor, and consequently VERY oily hair.

14th – It’s been rainy (and cold) for almost 2 weeks, but when we walked out of church it was beautiful and sunny. So, Aaron decided we should go out and get a cheap grill so we could cookout and have a nice dinner on our patio. So, we went to Walmart, picked out a grill, got some hot dogs and finally drove home… Only to have it start raining as soon as we drove into the driveway.

15th – My mom took John to the potty. Afterwards he gets a prize and he picked out both a chocolate and a car. Mom asked if he got both and I said, “No, only one.” When John heard me say that he proceeded to pick out another car and another chocolate.

Papa came to town!

16th – I went to the youth retreat until the 19th.

– After I left, my parents drove to and explored Park City. They stoped in at the Chocolate Factory. While my parents were paying for what they had picked out, John as quiet as a mouse, slowly sneaked over to and around the counter and with a very mishcevious, “I hope no one catches me” look on his face, he was slowly reaching his hand into the chocolate case when my mom caught him just in time!

17th – I’m caught outside in a hail storm!

18th – At the youth retreat we were separated into teams. Darren, our youth pastor, and I were on the same team, however he was officially the team leader. On this day, however, he needed extra time to work on his talks that he gave during the week. Wouldn’t you know they did a relay where the leader, now me, sat with an empty 2-liter bottle on top of their head while the students filled it up with water until it was full. We won, but Darren sauntered (ok, walked and innocently didn’t realize what had happened) back just in time for me to be completely soaked.

20th – John and Lydia emptied my pantry and dumped my rice and instant mashed potatoes into the sink.

21st – After church my parents took John outside to play for a bit. He rolled down a little hill and I went over to get him. I told him to go see Omi and Papa and he started running straight for a muddle puddle so I yelled, “John don’t run through the water!” He didn’t divert his path. Instead, as soon as his foot hit the puddle his hand covered his bottom knowing what was coming from his disobedience.

– John dumps out and he and Lyddie play in the rest of the bubbles.

22nd – John, walking up the stairs to the house, was in the shade. When he saw the sunny part he walked across the step into the sun and continued walking up the stairs.

23rd – Over at the Summer’s house. John, James, and Chloe are all the same age. At one point, all three of them, one at a time, came up the stairs crying/screaming draging a stuffed animal behind them. It was almost as though they choreographed it!

25 – Got back late and had to take Maggie home, meaning I had to wake up the kids and take them with me. John was still awake (although lying quietly in bed) but I let him get up before we left. He had so much energy he was like the ball in the pinball machine.

26th – The kids were playing with the water in the blow up pool as I pulled weeds. When I went to put the weeds in the trash I realized that they had my cell phone and were playing with it in the pool  water. My cell phone is dead.

27th – Being both clumsy and a dancer, I’ve become pretty good at turning a trip into a dance move or a graceful fall. Well, Lydia just triped and then gracefully disguised it as though she really meant to end up comfortably laying down on the ground.

28th – Found John standing in the toilet.

29th – Got the kids’ pictures taken. There was a river/pond that a bunch of people were playing in. So, after the pictures I took off John’s shoes and pants and let him go at it. He had a great time.

30th – Lydia fell down and started wimpering, so John went over, patted her saying, “Ok Lylia.” hugged her, gave her a kiss and she started crying harder!

Published in: on June 30, 2009 at 8:52 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2009/06/30/june-2009-in-review/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That is one mischievous boy you have!


Leave a Reply

