August 2010 in Review

1st – John said, “Daddy, you and me are two.”

2nd – Enjoyed a day at Wheeler Farm feeding the ducks and geese… One goose even stole bread right out of Lydia’s hand!

3rd – Just ate the first home-grown tomato of the season… so… yummy! I’m so glad my husband enjoys growing tomatoes!

4th – Stacie’s first day working as a banquet server at the Hilton Garden Inn. She had a great first day and everyone was very friendly.

– When I got home John said, “Where’d you go mommy?” And I said, “To work.” To which he replied, “You were with daddy?!”

5th – Lydia walked up to me with her finger out going, “uh, uh, uh” and I said, “What?” and put my hand out, only to have her wipe a really big booger on my hand!

7th – Enjoyed Midvale’s fireworks from our back yard. It was a wonderful relaxing evening sitting in the yard waiting for the fireworks. Then hearing John oooh and aaaah over the colors and the size while holding a scared Lydia was priceless.

9th – I thought my kids were just playing in their room instead when they came out I found that they had dumped an entire BIG box of barely eaten Lucky Charms on the floor… and ate only the marshmallows…. sigh.

11th – Lydia, on her own accord, for the first time dipped her french fry into a Wendy’s frosty.

12th – As we’ve played Mario I’ve said things like, “Oh crap!” “Dang it!” and “Shoot!” However, those words don’t sound so cute coming from a 4-year-old mouth. So, we finally decided on “Oh Man!” Well, we were walking through the airport and John says, “Oh man!” And then looks at me and says sheepishly, “Mommy, I said that word.”

14th – Instead of going to sleep Lydia decided she needed to blow dry her hair.

20th – John and Lydia were eating yogurt at the table, and Lydia spilled some yogurt on the bench. John kept saying, “Look at all this mess.” Then got some toilet paper, wet it, came back and cleaned the mess saying, “I clean it all up.” Then wiped Lydia’s face and said, “All nice and clean!”

21st – Three times this summer we have thoroughly enjoyed having a group of people from our church over for Summer Suppers. It was good food and good fellowship. We enjoyed spending time with old friends and getting to know new ones.

22nd – Lydia got super sick with high fever and didn’t eat for 3 days. 😦 Sicknesses are bitter sweet because I don’t want my babies to hurt or be ill, but I love all the cuddle time I get!

25th – ‎”We won’t wifi the whole time we’re here.” – My dad turning “wifi” into a verb. 🙂

26th – Warm Krispy Kreme doughnuts and Thanksgiving Point Gardens… what more could one ask for?

29th – On the way to church this morning Lydia said, “Daddy. Daddy. Daddy. Daddy. Daddy! Daddy!” No response from Aaron (who’s driving) “Where’d daddy go mommy?”

Lydia has been calling my mom “Air” all week.

30th – Hit a milestone birthday. I’m no longer in my twenties… I’m officially 30 and, according to Aaron, old.

31st – I knew this would come some day… John said, “I big mommy.” And I responded, “Oh you’re my little boy.” To which he said, “I not little boy, I big!”

Published in: on August 31, 2010 at 1:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/august-2010-in-review/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

