The Little Chap who Follows Me!

I found this poem in a magazine “Above Rubies” a while back, saved it, and just came across it again. I love it.

The Little Chap who Follows Me!

A careful man I want to be’

A little fellow follows me.

I do not dare to go astray

For fear he’ll go the self-same way.

I cannont once escape his eyes,

Whate’er he sees me do, he tries.

Like me he says he’s going to be;

The little chap who follows me.

He thinks that I’m so very fine,

Believes in every word of mine.

The base in me he must not see;

The little chap who follows me.

I must remember as I go

Through summer’s sun and winter’s snow,

I’m building for the years to be’

The little chap who follows me.

Author Unknown

I hope the unknown author won’t mind my following liberties.

The Little Sweetie who Follows Me!

A careful woman I want to be;

A little sweetie  follows me.

I do not dare to go astray

For fear she’ll go the self-same way.

I cannot once escape her eyes,

Whate’er she sees me do, she tries.

Like me she says she’s going to be;

The little sweetie who follows me.

She thinks that I’m so very fine,

Believes in every word of mine.

The base in me she must not see;

The little sweetie who follows me.

I must remember as I go

Through summer’s sun and winter’s snow,

I’m building for the years to be;

The little sweetie who follows me.

Published in: on March 27, 2011 at 11:01 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/the-little-chap-who-follows-me-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

