Mine is the Night

I just finished Mine is the Night written by Liz Curtis Higgs. The book is based on the story line of Ruth in the Bible, but takes place in 18th century Scotland. Elizabeth, a widow, follows her widowed mother-in-law, who was stripped of title and fortune, back to her home town of Selkirk. There, they struggle penniless and Elizabeth becomes employed as a seamstress at Bell Hill where Lord Jack Buchanan seeks to provide for this widow and her loved ones.

I was surprised and delighted by Higgs creativity in seeking to find as many parallels as possible to the original story, taking liberties with parts that were unspoken.

I extremely and immensely enjoyed this story and found myself drawn back to the book almost immediately. It was rarely far from my reach during the few days it took to read and enjoy this book. My only disappointment is not realizing that it was the sequel to Here Burns my Candle (of which I have not read, but now look forward to doing so) until I was about 1/2 way through the novel and noted it’s connection on the back inside cover.

So, before you pick up this book, as you absolutely must, make sure to read Here Burns my Candle first!

Here is a video trailer for the book.

As well as a link to an excerpt.

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9781400070022&view=excerpt

*Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

Published in: on April 5, 2011 at 1:07 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/mine-is-the-night/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You found Waterbrook Multnomah too! They have a lot bigger selection of books, I’m really enjoying it!

    • I found it because of you! I forgot to thank you for it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

