A Jelly Bean Memory

I don’t like jelly beans… I really don’t. My one and only exception to that rule is the Starburst jelly beans, because let’s face it… they don’t taste like jelly beans.

At Easter my mother-in-law sent a bag of jelly beans to the kids and it wasn’t the first thing opened, since each child also had their own bag of different types of candy. Anyhow, my husband eventually broke into the jelly bean bag and the kids were all too happy to share. As we piled onto the bed just hanging out with the bag of jelly beans near by my daughter fed me one. And how could I say no to such a beautiful precious little girl?

As I ate the jelly bean I was taken back 20-25 years and I was sneaking a step stool into my grandpa’s kitchen climbing on the counter trying to get to his jelly beans and gum drops. Oh how I miss those white candy “jars” and childhood.

Other memories from Grandma and Grandpa’s house… The awful well water, and the juice mixture grandma always served, running around and playing with my cousins, and playing Gremlins on Grandpa’s computer, Grandma’s roses, and sleeping in the back bedroom (my favorite place), the scary basement and the tire swing. I wish I could go back.

I love you and miss you Grandpa Todd! (And Grandma too, since I haven’t seen you in a while!)

Published in: on May 26, 2011 at 10:15 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/a-jelly-bean-memory/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

