Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris

“Via vivd autobiography, Pastor Harris takes readers on a personal journey into the biblical theology that, belatedly, he found he could not manage without…”  – J.I. Packer. 

That quote is at the beginning of Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris along with other reviews.This is the most accurate description of the book. 

This book has received excellent reviews from many people I theologically respect. I wanted to like this book. I was excited to read this book. I wanted it to be an excellent intro to theology, a book to lead younger women through. But, in the end, I’m not a big fan. 

Because of Harris’s autobiographical approach, I found that I kept loosing the spot-on theology to the stories. He would try to connect a doctrine to a life event, but in the end, I just felt like it was too wordy and too flower-y. I can understand that this approach may appeal to a lot of people. However, I’m a very systematic, practical, down-to-earth person and while I love an illustrating story to make a point, I just felt like this was a little too much. 

The book was also entitled Dug Down Deep, when in reality, this is very much an introductory book to theology. Maybe instead it should have been called Digging Deeper. If you have yet to explore deeper theology within the Christian faith and you are a more artsy type of person, then this will be a good book for you. If, however, you are well grounded and know and understand words like justificaton and sanctification and would enjoy a more straight forward book, then I would suggest looking elsewhere.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook/Multnomah’s Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review.

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/dug-down-deep-by-joshua-harris/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

