A Culture That Hates People

From Pinterest

Recently I’ve found the humor boards on Pinterest. It’s an easy way at the end of the day to kill a little time when you don’t have a book to read. However, it’s also a huge commentary on society.

It’s become apparent to me how people, in our culture, think other people are stupid, or need to be punched in the face, or how they don’t want to be around people, how much they hate people, or share pictures of people simply to make fun of them.

Now, I’m an introvert. I understand wanting to hide in my home or enjoying the comfort of my bedroom rather going out and meeting new people. However, I don’t hate people. I might hate crowds or traffic. I might get irritated at the person who cut me off or is driving recklessly, but I don’t hate people. In fact, it’s sinful to hate people. It’s sinful to assume stupidity when you simply disagree (this gets especially bad during election season.) It’s sinful to degrade others for the purpose of making yourself feel better.

I don’t know the percentage of Pinterest-ers that would consider themselves Christ-followers, but as Christians we need to be aware of falling into this worldly trap of thinking poorly of others. God created humans after His own image. ALL people Christians and non-Christians alike are worth something to Him. As His ambassadors we should treat other humans with love, patience, grace, and dignity. We WILL get frustrated with each other. We WILL have days where customers, co-workers, family, friends, and strangers drive us crazy, however, our life mantra  should NEVER be one of “I hate people.” – no matter how “cool” it is.

Published in: on August 31, 2013 at 4:31 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/a-culture-that-hates-people/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

