Quotes from our Ohio Adoption Trip

If you’ve ever wanted to be a fly on the wall of one of our family vacations then you will definitely enjoy reading all of the quotes below!

“Are we there yet?” -Lydia
“Are we getting closer?” -Lydia
“I don’t want to sit in the van any more.” -Lydia
All of the above quotes were said within the first 3 hours of a 25 hour drive!

Lydia: “I’ll do the bottle but not the diapers!
John: “I’ll do the diapers!”
Lydia: “John, they’re disgusting!!!”
UPDATE: Lydia has made bottles AND changed diapers, while John has made bottles but has no interest in changing diapers!

“It smells like someone pooped their pants!” -Lydia

John: “Does anyone know what a storm chaser is?”
Me: “Someone who chases storms.”
John: “Nope!”

Aaron: “No fun allowed!” (being funny)
Lydia cries.

“Why aren’t we flying?” -Lydia, 50 minutes into day 2

“Mama, are we almost somewhere yet?” -Lydia

8:54am
“Mom is it almost night time?” -Lydia
I believe this is in response to my earlier comment: “We will be driving ALL. DAY. LONG.

John: “Dad, how sure are they that it’s a girl?”
Aaron: “About 98% sure”
John: “So you’re saying there’s a chance [that it’s a boy].”

“Why are there so many trees?” -Lydia, in barren WY, we counted 5 trees.

Aaron: “Look at that pretty grass out there!”
Lydia: “Where?! Where?!”
Aaron: “On the left.”
Lydia: “Is this my left?I don’t see it.”
Aaron: “It’s the pretty green stuff.”
Lydia: “Daddy, you said giraffe!!!!”
Aaron: “No, I said ‘green grass.'”
Lydia: “You said, ‘gir-affe’!”

“Daddy bonked into the wall.” -Lydia

“The first excuse is good. The second excuse… is good too.” -John

Lydia: “Mommy, did we bring any band aids on this trip?”
Me: “No, I forgot.”
Lydia: “Can we go home and get them?” (We were in Iowa.)

“I miss my home sweet home.” -Lydia (day 3)

“I wish we flied.” -Lydia, 5 minutes into our third day driving.

“You should kiss on the lips until you die.” -Lydia

“It smells like a barn in the car!” -Lydia

John: “If you stood on the edge of the Grand Canyon and fell off the edge would you die?”
Me: “Yes.”
John: “Why? It’s only a mile deep!”
(Discussion about depths and dangerous heights to fall from.)
John: “What about if you had a parachute?”
Aaron: “Then you probably would live.”
Lydia: *Gasp* “You could parachute into lava!”
John: “There no lava, just a river!”

Two hours into the third day John finally asks the long awaited question:
“Are we in Ohio yet?”

“Are we still in the place where mommy was borned?” -Lydia, I was born in Illinois.

“Yes! It’s raining! I’m so glad I brought my umbrella!” -Lydia

“What? It’s manly” -John, after tucking a napkin into his shirt.

John tried to get from the vending machine last night but it got stuck. This morning he tried again and got two Twislers. His response, “It’s a miracle!”

“Can we go to Barnies and Nobles? It’s my favorite book store.” -John

First thing both the kids asked when they saw Hannah, “Where are her eyebrows?!”

John: “When was the baby born?”
Omi: “Oh about 10-15 minutes ago.”
John: “I bet she’s just crawling around everywhere!”

“Your baby is so beautiful. Mine was the ugliest in the world, he was a ‘bless your heart’ baby.” -Becki, the hospital housekeeper.

“Hope [Hannah’s] not nocturnal!” -John

“What does the giraffe do? It doesn’t have a ‘try me’ button.” -John

“She might be wondering, ‘Who’s Hannah Pie?'” -Lydia, speaking of Hannah.

“I guess your mom is always right, sometimes.” -John (speaking of Omi)

Old Ohio friend, Josh: “What state do you live in?”
Lydia: “America.”

“Oh look she’s awake! Just like a human!” -John

Papa: “Did you get enough to eat today?”
John: “Not really, I just had breakfast, lunch and a little bit of dinner.”

“My name is Jude, J-U-D-E, it sounds like a D on the end but it’s an E. That’s messed up.” -Jude, a random kid at Apex talking to Lydia.

John and Lydia leave Omi and Papa’s hotel room where it’s quiet.
Me: “Why are you going to the other room?”
John: “We want peace.”
Me: “From the adults?!”
Lydia: “Yes!”

“The 80’s like when my great-great-great-grandma lived?” -John

“She has a poopy diaper, haha, that’s a good one Omi. Mom isn’t that a good one?!” -John

As we’re leaving Uncle Phil and Aunt Laura’s, Lydia cries, “I’m gonna miss that dog!!!”

“Dag nab it! Dag yes it!” -John

“Hold down your horses, mommy!” -Lydia

Me: “We only have 1560 more miles to go.”
John: “Well, that will cheer us up!”

“My band aid gave me more bug bites!” -Lydia

“I have to go potty very, very, badly. So, can we stop somewhere in this state?” -Lydia

“Ow! Ow! Ow! That sound hurts my feet!” -Lydia, as the van drives over the rumble strip during road construction.

“My knees are sitting here doing nothing!” -Lydia

“There were three hotels in one crunch.” -John

“My brain is hot!” -Lydia

“Seriously?! That fox crossed the road without looking both ways?! He is not smart!” -John

“I think I have car fever!” -Lydia

“It must be hard to be a cow in Kansas.” -Nana

While searching for “amber waves of grain”
Nana: “What’s that?”
Me: “Dead grass!”
Nana: “No, I think it’s amber waves of grain that has been harvested.

*We had three carnivorous flies from Kansas travel with us all the way to Utah.*

Lydia: “Have we really been good?!”
Me: “Yes.”
Lydia: “Thank the Lord!!!”

Me: “These are the plain states. You know like the prairie and the plains.
John: “You mean planes fly all around here?”

“You know, back in the 80’s when most people lived in the prairies, kids stayed in the church with their parents the whole time!” -John

Nana accidently turned off the car DVD so John was trying to help her turn it back on.
“Press ‘power,’ nana. You see the P-O-W-E-R Letters? It’s that one.”

“I wonder how they get Italian food to taste so much like American food.” -John

“Well of course I can’t sleep! Tomorrow I get to see daddy!… and my new home! … and my new bed!… and tomorrow is my brother’s 8 year old brithday!…” -Lydia

“John, now that you are 8 years old, I’m going to stop making fun of you.” -Lydia

Five minutes after getting into Utah:
“Are we home yet? Are we in the right Utah?” -Lydia

“I don’t like the word pacifier because of the word ‘fire.’ I want it to be called paci or binky.” -Lydia

Our trip to Ohio was amazing. We had a lot of fun. It was great to see old friends and introduce our kids to some new ones! It was wonderful to meet Hannah’s birth family. They’re a great family and I wish we lived closer. We’re so happy to be home and start our new normal. We are praising God daily for our little Hannah Pie!

Published in: on July 13, 2014 at 6:09 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciashaf.wordpress.com/2014/07/13/quotes-from-our-ohio-adoption-trip/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

